Skip to Content

Brahms and Bruckner Motets

Brahms and Bruckner Motets

Of the major nineteenth century composers, who largely refrained from composing in the motet style, Brahms and Bruckner are significant exceptions. Though both Brahms and Bruckner’s motets are inconceivable without the influence of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, they are nonetheless idiomatic to the composers’ styles. Seamlessly entwining old and new, these motets emerge as masterpieces of the sacred style in the nineteenth century.


Brahms and Bruckner Motets

Anton Bruckner Os justi
Anton Bruckner Aequalis 1
Anton Bruckner Virga Jesse
Johannes Brahms Drei motetten
Anton Bruckner Locus iste
Anton Bruckner Tota pulchra es
Johannes Brahms How Lovely Are Thy Dwellings Fair

– Interval –

Anton Bruckner Libera me
Anton Bruckner Aequalis 2
Anton Bruckner Christus factus est
Johannes Brahms Ave Maria
Anton Bruckner Ave Maria
Johannes Brahms Fest- und Gedenkspruche Op 109
Johannes Brahms Geistliches Lied
Anton Bruckner Ecce sacerdos magnus

Venue & Address

St Mary’s Parish Church, Sidegate , Haddington, East Lothian, EH41 4BZ, United Kingdom