Skip to Content


Past Events

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to iCal

Of the major nineteenth century composers, who largely refrained from composing in the motet style, Brahms and Bruckner are significant exceptions. Though both Brahms and Bruckner’s motets are inconceivable without the influence of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, they are nonetheless idiomatic to the composers’ styles. Seamlessly entwining old and new, these motets emerge as masterpieces of the sacred style in the nineteenth century.


Anton Bruckner Locus iste
Anton Bruckner Virga Jesse
Anton Bruckner Os justi
Johannes Brahms Fest- und Gedenkspruche Op 109
Josef Rheinberger Mass for double choir Op 109


Anton Bruckner Ave Maria
Anton Bruckner Tota pulchra es
Anton Bruckner Christus factus est
Johannes Brahms Ave Maria
Johannes Brahms Drei motetten
Johannes Brahms Geistliches Lied
Josef Rheinberger Abendlied
Anton Bruckner Ecce sacerdos magnus