Skip to Content

The Romantic Legacy of Renaissance Polyphony

  • 15 February 2020
  • 8:00 pm
  • 3000 Bern, Switzerland
The Romantic Legacy of Renaissance Polyphony

This programme takes us on a spiritual and historical journey, beginning in Renaissance Spain and Italy with the sublime music of Lobo, Victoria and Allegri, before moving westwards to Mexico for Padilla’s Missa ego flos campi.

The second half of the concert features the music of German craftsmen Brahms, Bruckner and Reger, giving an insight that much of their inspiration originates not only from the counterpoint of Bach, but from the expressive polyphony of their Renaissance predecessors.


Alonso Lobo Versa est in luctum
Tomás Luis de Victoria Tenebrae, Responsorien (selection)
Gregorio Allegri Miserere mei, Deus
Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla Missa Ego flos campi (without Credo)
Max Reger Der Mensch lebt und bestehet
Johannes Brahms Fest- und Gedenksprüche, Op. 109
Anton Bruckner Ave Maria
Virga Jesse
Christus factus est
Johannes Brahms Drei motetten, Op. 110
Max Reger Nachtlied

Artist Information

Nigel Short

Venue & Address

Berner Münster, Münsterplatz 1, 3000 Bern, Switzerland


Nigel Short, Tenebrae